America was founded and built by a unique set of individuals. This set of individuals packed up everything they owned and set sail to a new country and new home with the knowledge that they would never return to the place that they were raised and would never see their friends or family again.  These people arrived with a spirit of individualism that was manifested in the majority of immigrants to our great nation.  Natural selection occurred and a breed of human occupied a new country.

This spirit was captured in a writing authored by Dean Alfrange.  Alfrange was born of Greek parents living in Turkey.  A Greek living in Turkey in the 1880s was not a desirable life as Turkey had been at war with Greece since the Persians invaded Greece in 490 BC.  Alfrange came to America as an infant and like many appreciative immigrants he joined the Army and went off to World War I.  Alfrange went to college following the war and eventually received a law degree from Columbia.

Alfrange put America above political affiliation, something that needs to be reinstated in our National Government political thinking.  In the 1930s he served as head of the American Labor Party.  Then in 1940 Franklin Roosevelt appointed him to a Democratic party and then was nominated to run as a Democratic candidate for the U.S. Senate. In 1944 his actions in the American Labor Party led to the formation of the Liberal Party. Then in 1970 Alfrange was appointed by Nelson Rockefeller to a position within the Republican Party.

As magnificent as his loyalty was to the country, the most memorable accomplishment of Alfrange was his writing known as the Uncommon Man.  In this writing he encapsulates the true beign of the men and women that built America.  Unfortunately much of this has been lost but it is within the reach of Americans to regain this level of integrity and individualism.  This writing follows:

“My Creed I do not choose to be a common man, It is my right to be uncommon … if I can, I seek opportunity … not security. I do not wish to be a kept citizen. Humbled and dulled by having the State look after me. I want to take the calculated risk; To dream and to build. To fail and to succeed.

I refuse to barter incentive for a dole; I prefer the challenges of life To the guaranteed existence; The thrill of fulfillment To the stale calm of Utopia.

I will not trade freedom for beneficence Nor my dignity for a handout I will never cower before any master Nor bend to any threat.

It is my heritage to stand erect. Proud and unafraid; To think and act for myself, To enjoy the benefit of my creations And to face the world boldly and say: This, with God’s help, I have done All this is what it means To be an Entrepreneur.” ― Dean Alfange

Leave a Reply

