GLENN GREENE

Posted: September 24, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Back a “few” years ago when I was in college I had the fortune to indulge in my dream. No, it wasn’t a pitcher of liquid refreshment at the local college watering hole, the Siesta Lounge. While my profession was going to be project management, my true dream was archeology. I took a couple of classes under Dr Glenn Greene but my real pinnacle came when I took the six week field school course under Dr Greene where we excavated a Caddo burial site at the confluence of Bayou DeSiard and the Ouachita River. We were visited for several days by the fabled Dianne Story, head of Archeology at the University of Texas; her husband who was curator of the University of Texas Museum and her archeology field school. The students were so excited to be able to get to a real burial and help excavate it. We would spend early summer evenings together and watch slide shows of some of Dr Story’s large digs and talk of archeology into the early morning hours.
Glenn wore a broad brimmed hat when on site ten years before Indiana Jones made it famous. He told how he met his wife right after she came out of the Mexican desert and how she had to cut her hair with a knife while performing her archeological work in a desolate location south of the border. “She looked rough”, he said. They married while in grad school and there was then two archeologist under one roof.
Following graduation for the University of Washington, Glenn eventually became professor of archeology at Northeast Louisiana University and his wife, Loraine, had a successful archeological company that would send her to all parts of the country conducting quick archeological research and thus allow major construction projects to proceed.
My summer with Glenn was magical and we had some pretty interesting people on the team. Not only did I excavate at the site but since I had surveyed in the Navy I was tasked to map the site.
There was a man that had entered school following his tour in the Army in Viet Nam. His new lieutenant had called artillery in on his own position and my friend and one other soldier were the only two to get out. My dig partner carried a steel plate in his head but was fortunate to have survived. When I returned from Saudi Arabia where I worked as a Project Manager I visited Glenne and discovered that our friend had accidentally shot himself while cleaning his rifle.
We also had a young man on the team from Guatemala who was studying at LSU. His father wanted him to come for a summer with Dr Greene. This man eventually became the head of antiquities in Guatemala and as I understand it has been in National Geographic several times.
There were others on the dig and we became one large family only to be broken up by graduation. I lost touch with Glenn and heard he had become very ill but a kidney transplant had him back on his feet. I often wondered how he was enjoying retirement in Arkansas.
Our archeological site at Paragould Landing was listed as an official archeological site by the town of Monroe. I sat in pride in the Dhahran Saudi Arabia Library as I read about the site listing in Archeology magazine. Then in the mid-1980s while on the Ouachita River I saw a scraper removing the low level burial mound that I had so meticulously mapped and the field school had so carefully excavated. The large ceremonial mounds were left in tack but a large palatial home was erected where we had spent a magical summer. Morore had sold out and instead of building a small museum as had originally been planned, a wealthy private home owner eventually lived on top of what was a Caddo cemetery.
Then last week I was determined to track Glenn down so I went to Google and there I found my answer. An obituary, two years old told of the passing of one Dr Glenn Greene, professor of archeology at Northeast Louisiana University. My heart sank as I realized I had once again let a prime opportunity pass to visit an old friend.

Leave a Reply

